Last Doctor ep1-4 [impression]


Lastdoc

There are currently 2 dramas showing this season about medical examiners. One of them is Zero no Shinjitsu (Takei Emi) and Last Doctor (Terawaki Yasufumi, Aibu Saki). This wasn’t initially in my to-watch list but while i was waiting for the other dramas, I saw that this is being subbed, no reason not to give it a shot. Normally for medical dramas, I need subtitles because obviously the medical terms can be very complicated.

Last Doctor ep04 (848x480 x264).mkv_snapshot_01.07_[2014.08.17_20.45.39]So Terawaki Yasufumi stars as an eccentric medical examiner, Akita Shinya, who possesses a very odd personality in his working method. Enter Kaoruko (Aibu Saki) who was advised to take up an internship at the medical examiners’ office for experience. She is teamed up with Akita and so when you put weird + normal together, you get a rather whacky combination. I have to say, this show really cracks me up when I least expected it. They have eccentric characters everywhere don’t they, either in detective dramas or medical but I feel like this show isn’t a try-hard. It feels so natural so far and the comedy isn’t forced. We are put in Kaoruko’s shoes from the first day and we know she’s normal. She takes up this internship just because her professor thinks it’ll be a good experience for her. Then when she finds herself surrounded by all these weirdos who only interacts with dead people all day long, it’s bound to be a rather challenging task.

Last Doctor ep02 (848x480 x264).mkv_snapshot_16.17_[2014.08.17_20.48.27]

I last saw Aibu Saki in Miss Pilot and she didn’t annoy me there (in fact, I liked her character more than Horikita Maki’s and I was cursing mad when she didn’t get to be pilot). I’ll be honest and say I didn’t have a very good track record of impression towards Aibu Saki, I can’t remember what was it that kind of tainted it for me. However, starting from Miss Pilot, I actually didn’t mind anymore. Her character here is much more carefree than the serious hardworker in Miss Pilot, which is a pleasure to watch. Being one of the most normal characters surrounded by a bunch of peculiar ones (reminds me of Chiaki senpai in Nodame Cantabile).

Last Doctor ep04 (848x480 x264).mkv_snapshot_01.04_[2014.08.17_20.45.32]

I’m not familiar with Terawaki Yasufumi’s shows so I won’t judge. However, he’s seriously hilarious in this. He acts as if there’s nothing wrong with the way he lives. One of the quotes I recalled is “You know there’s a problem with the guy when he doesn’t marry even at 40.” He says it in a calm tone without batting an eye (funny thing is, he’s not referring to himself but we viewers know he’s one of those guys not yet married at 40 LOL).

Last Doctor ep03 (848x480 x264).mkv_snapshot_18.12_[2014.08.17_20.55.06]

Another character worth mentioning is Takeuchi Ryoko acted by actress YOU, who works as an analyst in the office. She makes every scene just 10x better and some of the most memorable ones.

Last Doctor ep02 (848x480 x264).mkv_snapshot_38.58_[2014.08.17_20.50.19]

So far up till ep4, the cases were fine except for ep2’s fishy explanation. I won’t spoil it here but I find it too far-fetched. But between Zero no Shinjitsu and Last Doctor, I actually prefer this show. So if you’re watching Zero no Shinjitsu, you might want to give this a try too because it’s actually quite an enjoyable show.

 Last Doctor ep02 (848x480 x264).mkv_snapshot_18.05_[2014.08.17_20.48.48]
Last but not least, cute guy spotted ^^

2 thoughts on “Last Doctor ep1-4 [impression]

  1. wow, I might try this for the last sentence of your review 🙂 I’m currently watching Zero no Shinjitsu now because of the cast there. Last Doctors cast didn’t appeal to me initially…

  2. Same here, I watched Zero just because of Takei Emi and the overall more familiar cast. However, Last Doctor is surprisingly entertaining and the comedy is better imo. Hope you’ll like it ^^

Leave a Reply

