Wakamonotachi ep6 [review]


This episode…where did it go wrong?
This week’s attention was put on Hikari and Shinjo’s wife. Another doctor from the same department found out about Shinjo and Hikari’s affair and decided to send a picture to Shinjo’s wife. I don’t know why Shinjo is living apart from his wife and daughter. They’re apparently staying in Nagoya and I’ve always thought that Shinjo was separated from his wife. But it seems unlikely now that in this episode we saw his wife coming to Tokyo to talk face to face with Hikari regarding this affair.

Wakamonotachi 2014 ep06 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_45.14_[2014.08.29_12.33.17]Okay, I’ll just get something straight here. I don’t score high on morality, neither am I a saint, but I do think an affair is an affair and it’s wrong, no matter how much you try to justify it.

Wakamonotachi 2014 ep06 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_45.40_[2014.08.29_12.32.52]Hence, in this episode, I couldn’t agree with what Hikari did or Asa-nii trying to justify her actions, pleading Shinjo’s wife to give her more time and such. It’s disgusting. I mean, if I were put in Shinjo’s wife’s position, there’s no way I can forgive any of them, be it Shinjo or Hikari and Asa-nii just rubbed more salt in the wound.

Wakamonotachi 2014 ep06 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_46.22_[2014.08.29_13.00.43]I found myself siding Sato in this matter. He was right, in my very honest opinion. An affair remains an affair. It’s wrong to disrupt another person’s family. Of course, we don’t see much of this actually blamed on Shinjo who is also equally responsible for this. I don’t know who started the affection, whether Shinjo or Hikari but Shinjo should also be blamed as much, but I don’t see that in this episode. They just breezed through his conversation with his wife and totally ignored.

Wakamonotachi 2014 ep06 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_46.50_[2014.08.29_13.01.40]Hikari is a conflicted character right from the start. I like her and Mitsushima Hikari carries the role really brilliantly, but if there’s one thing I can’t accept from her character, it’s just this one particular issue. I just pity Shinjo’s wife, even though she’s very much absent until this episode. Oh and Asa-nii deserves that slap too. I’m sorry, I just can’t agree with how he handled this issue even if he was just trying to help Hikari, in his own way. But Shinjo’s wife was right, his way was unfair. Sato slapping Hikari, good one. She needed to know what kind of mistake she did.

Wakamonotachi 2014 ep06 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_51.43_[2014.08.29_13.49.09]

That case aside, let’s celebrate Lisa Loeb’s song, Stay!!! It’s definitely one of my favorite tunes from her and I’m glad the song made such a huge presence in this episode. I thought the scene where Hikari and her two brothers trying to sing the song (humming) in the room was cute. Also, Sato playing the guitar for the intro.

Wakamonotachi 2014 ep06 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_09.29_[2014.08.29_13.07.09]

You also get to hear Nagasawa Masami sing the song, while playing the guitar. I’m glad they inserted that scene in this episode because if they didn’t after all the coincidence of her favorite song being Stay as well, it won’t flow well and would have felt like something’s missing. Her English is not terrible either. So even though she’s not in my fav list, I give her props for even trying.

At the end of this episode, I think Hikari has made up her mind to leave Shinjo. When she asked Takako to perform the song by saying because it’s her most hated song, I think it was one of those defining moments of when she mustered up courage to say goodbye to Shinjo (in her own personal method). If that is so, then I think Hikari will be a stronger person and doesn’t always feel like she has to rely on others anymore.

 

One thought on “Wakamonotachi ep6 [review]

  1. I share your sentiments. Hikari (the character) has a lot of complications and that Hikari (the actress) is doing an awesome job portraying such a difficult character with all those conflicts inside her. It’s a difficult role to play but Mitsushima (as always) make it so easy. I am prejudiced towards Masami Nagasawa, has never been really impressed with her, but this drama changed my mind. I am now looking at her with a different set of eyes. I think she’s also doing a great job, as with Yu Aoi.

Leave a Reply

