Zannen na Otto [first impression]


I watched this primarily for Tamaki Hiroshi. His stint in Kyou wa Kaisha Yasumimasu wasn’t enough to make watch that drama. I dropped it after 2-3 episodes, they weren’t memorable either. Since he is lead in this, I made up my mind to give this a shot.

 Zannen na Otto ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_03.53_[2015.01.25_20.05.47] Zannen na Otto ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_03.56_[2015.01.25_20.05.53]

My first impression wasn’t very good. The first half of the show was a bit redundant. There’s no clear vision as to where the show was heading and still trying to figure out what the show was about in the first half. I know the scripwriter is probably showing us the daily life of this pair of husband and wife and their addition of their newborn is making things worse for them, well…the wife especially because Tamaki plays a husband who is the typical Japanese men who focuses on work and leaves all housework and babysitting to their wives.

Zannen na Otto ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_13.00_[2015.01.25_20.06.10]Zannen na Otto ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_18.36_[2015.01.25_20.06.26]

I just couldn’t keep my focus in the first half, it was draggy and had no direction. However, thankfully, things began to change when his wife suffered some heart problem (which I hope will be explored more in the future), probably hinting a brewing darker fate in store for the family. While the first half was boring, the second half kinda saved the show for me.

Zannen na Otto ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_21.23_[2015.01.25_20.06.35] As we watch Tamaki trying to get home to cheer his wife on their anniversary (with the underlying fact that he actually spent a lot on a basketball shirt and knew his wife would be pissed) and found himself delayed by a series of unfortunate events. He was too kind to help others and in that sense makes him a great guy but not a very good husband.

The final part of their confrontation at home was pretty good and that was the part that saved the first episode for me, personally. I think things will begin to escalate in the 2nd episode as Tamaki tries to lighten his wife’s burden.

The good

Nice to see Tamaki playing a father role, if my memory serves me correct, he has never played a daddy role before.

His chemistry with Kurashina Kana is pretty good, so their interaction is alright at the moment but nothing beats his chemistry with Ueno Juri.

Zannen na Otto ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_52.38_[2015.01.25_20.07.31]

The bad

I don’t find myself caring one bit about the other 2 families. At least, not yet.
I’m not used to Kurashina Kana’s hairdo in this show, I think I prefer her longer hair. The first half of her in messy hair was like ‘nodame’ it’s weird.
Still, I’ll keep watching unless something really turns me off in the later episodes. But as of now, it’s just an average family drama and there’s really nothing special yet to make this a MUST WATCH show of the season.

Leave a Reply

