Summer 2015 Jdrama


I know this should’ve come earlier but I sort of forgotten to whip up a list of Summer 2015 Jdramas. Basically, I’ll give some thoughts and my expectation level for the dramas. Though, to be quite honest, it doesn’t look very exciting except for a few. Feel free to tell which ones tickle your fancy!

 37.5°C's_Tear-p1

37.5°C no Namida
Cast:
Misako Renbutsu, Hiroki Narimiya, Naohito Fujiki, Miki Mizuno, Mokomichi Hayami
Synopsis:
Momoko Sugisaki (Misako Renbutsu) used to work as a teacher at a nursery school. Her poor communication skills with parents led to her leaving the school Now, she works as a home teacher. She visits the home of sick children and takes care of them when their parents can’t take the day off.
Source

Expectation level: Moderately high
Thoughts:
I’m mostly intrigued because of the cast and story. TBS seems to be infatuated with making children-related dramas nowadays (Mother Game comes to mind). I like family genre and issue addressing kind of plots and though it’s very cliché of Jdramas to do that, which can come off cheesy at times, I think this drama has some potential so I’ll be following. I kinda like to watch kid actors/actresses too, I think they’re cute and mostly good actually, there are potential future actors in shows like these. I’m also curious how Misako Renbutsu will fare, judging from the first episode which I’ve covered, she’s doing fine so far. This is one drama I can watch without being subbed at least, but hopefully someone will take this up.
Head over to my 1st ep episode review.
**Update- CloveR CAFE is subbing this.

520px-Tantei_no_Tantei_main

Tantei no Tantei

Cast: Keiko Kitagawa, Kawaguchi Haruna, Miura Takahiro
Synopsis:
Sasaki Rena (Kitagawa Keiko) is a beautiful woman with excellent memory and intelligence. She becomes a private detective and risks her life to chase down evil private detectives, because her younger sister was murdered by a stalker. The person that provided information to the stalker on her sister’s location was a private detective.
Source

Expectation level: High
Thoughts:
I love cop/detective dramas and even better if the lead kicks ass in it. So a cool character is basically a granted reason why this is one of my most highly anticipated dramas of the season. It’s also been a while since Keiko Kitagawa’s last drama (Hero 2 2014), so it’s nice to see her on screen again. The plot sounds pretty suspenseful, what with her fighting against other detectives and also being vengeful for the murder of her little sister. Heiwa Fansubs has taken this project and they’re fast, first episode is already out so there’s really no reason NOT to watch this. Looks like Keiko’s gonna be getting real physical too (took quite a beating in 1st ep already). Hopefully, this drama can be a highlight of the season which seems to be quite lacking otherwise.
**Update- Heiwa Fansubs dropped the show because Crunchyroll picked it up so you can head there to watch.

Ageharassment_main

Age Harassment
Cast: Takei Emi, Inamori Izumi, Seto Koji
Synopsis:
Yoshii Emiri is a new employee of a top trading company. In addition to her motivation, skills and ambition, she possesses both youth and beauty. This would appear to be her passport to happiness. But because she is assigned to the General Affairs Department, the old guard which only pays lip service to “female employment”, everything she possesses becomes a target of harassment. The company only requires Emiri’s youth and beauty. Her dream of doing a good job and eventually becoming an executive officer is quickly crushed. On the other hand, Emiri just has to flash a smile and the male staff would fuss over her even though she did not ask for anything. She becomes the target of jealousy of the older female staff. Emiri is given a hard time simply because of her youth and beauty. Although she endures this every day, she soon reaches the limit of her patience. When Emiri rebels against the old-fashioned company, what awaits her is..
Source

Expectation Level: Moderate
Thoughts:
Looks like a typical girl-power drama but the plot sounds interesting for now? I mean, I’ve heard of power hara and sexual hara but age harassment is a first for me. I’ve some reservations when it comes to Takei Emi’s acting but I guess it’s mostly because of her agency that pushes her beyond her capabilities for some roles. There was a period of time when she would appear non-stop in dramas, every single season (normally they’d get cast in alternate seasons) and I think because of that, I felt a bit tired of seeing her just about everywhere. Not to mention, some of those roles could’ve been given to more deserving actresses? Not hating, but I do sincerely think it’s about time she lands herself a more challenging role and not typical or cliche. That way, she can improve herself. The only drama that comes close to that was W no Higeki (2012). She needs more of those instead of mediocre roles. Either way, once this gets subbed, I’ll watch, if not, maybe just the first few eps to test it out. And I believe I’ve mentioned this before. It’d be nice to see her change her hairstyle or image. She’s been forever in the long hair and while it may be risky since she’s pretty with them, sometimes, a change of image can really change people’s perception, for the better in some ways.

The_God_of_Risk-p1

Risk no Kamisama

Cast: Toda Erika, Shinichi Tsutsumi
Synopsis:
Satoshi Saigyouji (Shinichi Tsutsumi) worked in crisis management for General Electric in the USA and the Japanese government. He is known as a legend in crisis management and known as “The God of Risk.” To deal with numerous problems and scandals, Sunrise, the largest general trading company, hires him. Meanwhile, Kaori Kagari (Erika Toda) is a businesswoman. She graduated from Tokyo University and works for Sunrise. She has worked for the company for 10 years and speaks several foreign languages. She isn’t afraid of causing troubles for her boss or colleagues. Sunrise and a large electrical manufacturer set up a new company to develop a next generation battery. Kaori Kagari is selected as an executive of productive development at the new company. She experience success initially, but soon faces a crisis. A recall is enacted due to a faulty ignition system. Kaori Kagari and Satoshi Saigyouji must now work together.
Source

Expectation Level: Moderate
Thoughts:
To be honest, if not for Toda Erika, I wouldn’t even think of giving this a shot because of the plot. Corporate stuff is just not my cup of tea. A drama which I will only watch if it gets subbed, otherwise, I won’t really bother to catch up with it because technical business terms are just too complicated for my puny brain to digest.

Koinaka-p1

Koinaka

Cast: Fukushi Sota, Honda Tsubasa
Synopsis:
Aoi Miura (Sota Fukushi) was born and grew up in Toyama Prefecture. He has an indecisive personality and does not like summer. He was the focal member of the high school swimming team, but he now works as an assistant at a small architectural office in Tokyo. One summer day, he meets his childhood friend and first love Akari Serizawa. During their school days they spent everyday hanging out together until the fireworks night in their 3rd year of high school. That night, Akari suddenly disappeared. Now, Akari has a man named Aoi.
Source

Expectation Level: Low
Thoughts:
I’ve read lots of people saying to avoid Fukushi and Honda like a plague. To some extent, I do agree. I haven’t really seen anything mind-blowing from either one. I first saw Fukushi in Starman and thought he was kinda cute in there and fitting to be an alien (that being said, an alien means he didn’t need to exercise much facial expression). Then, I saw him again in Kyou wa Kaisha Yasumimasu alongside Ayase Haruka and Tamaki Hiroshi. I dropped the drama midway because the plot wasn’t my cup of tea and somehow not even Ayase Haruka or Tamaki Hiroshi were enough to keep me engaged. Fukushi’s mediocre acting there proved why he should just remain as supporting actor instead of being given leads beyond his ability. I’ll give him this at least, he’s an eye candy. He’s cute and that’s probably the main reason why he keeps getting cast in lead roles. As for Honda Tsubasa, yes, I do try to avoid her like a plague, I admit that much. From what I’ve seen her in so far, she’s only capable of playing a one dimensional character (often either chirpy happy go lucky young student or annoying). There’s just something about her acting that turns me off and probably most people to go as far as to say ‘avoid her’. She’s one of those actresses whom I think shouldn’t even be given lead roles. But I guess it’s all about image in the industry. She is pretty, like Fukushi, but that’s really all there is. Hence, I have a feeling this show’s gonna flop, unless they do something phenomenal to save it. Personally, young romance is just not my thing. I always have very short patience for young romance plots in Jdramas so let’s see how far I can stand this.

Death_Note_(Japanese_Drama)-p1

Death Note
Cast: Kubota Masataka, Kento Yamazaki, Mio Yuki
Synopsis:
Light Yagami (Masataka Kubota) is an ordinary university student. One day, he receives a death note which changes his life. The death note awakens his warped sense of justice and genius. He becomes murderer Kira and punishes criminals. L (Kento Yamazaki) is a well known private detective. L appears in front of Light Yagami. L defines Kira as evil and decides to catch Kira. Then N (Mio Yuki), who has a beautiful appearance but dangerous existence, appears.
Source

Expectation Level: Moderate
Thoughts:
I recall loving the anime a lot. However, I can’t really remember much of the live action film with Tatsuya Fujiawara and Matsuyama Kenichi. Hence, I don’t really know what to expect from this drama live action but people seem to be quite hyped about it. Yet, there were some negative reactions after the first episode last week. I haven’t watched it personally, guess I’ll wait for subs. There are some dramas which I will watch even without subs (usually if my favorite cast is in it or the story is intriguing enough) but this one falls under the category of watch only if subs are available.

800px-Hanasakimai2

Hanasaki Mai ga Damattenai 2
Cast: Anne, Kamikawa Takaya
Synopsis:
Set in megabank Tokyo Daiichi Bank, “Hanasaki Mai Speaks Out” returns where it left off as Hanasaki Mai , the “relentless heroine”, and Soma Ken, the “hopeless middle-aged man”, continue their bumpy partnership in this delightful drama. The duo will tackle the multiple scandals and problems that arise in the bank’s branches throughout the country—lost cash, embezzlement, information leakage, accounting fraud, and calculated bankruptcy. Two employees with neither power nor status stand up for their distressed colleagues who don’t have the nerve to blow the whistle. Follow the duo as they brilliantly solve one problem after another.

Expectation Level: Moderate (but ratings will still be good)
Thoughts:I’m gonna be perfectly honest. The season 1 was just so-so in my honest opinion and I thought it didn’t really deserve the high ratings. However, I do understand that it’s mainly because of the effect of the author being the same person who wrote Hanzawa Naoki. I watched Season 1 and dropped it midway because it really wasn’t captivating enough. Nothing against Anne’s acting, but I find it a bit hard to empathize with her character, much less wanting to support her. Either way, the show ended up receiving good viewership ratings, hence the Season 2. I know I shouldn’t even be shocked by this but still, when I saw this show getting a S2, I couldn’t help but feel ‘Seriously?!’ I don’t think I’ll watch this, maybe only during my free time.

Dokonjo_Gaeru-p01Dokonjo Gaeru
Cast: Matsumaya Kenichi, Mitsushima Hikari, Maeda Atsuko,
Synopsis:
Hiroshi (Kenichi Matsuyama) is now 30-years-old and lethargic, but Pyonkichi, the frog imprinted on his shirt, is always energetic. Sometimes Hiroshi does not wear t-shirts with Pyonkichi, but Pyonkichi always encourages Hiroshi.

Expectation Level: Moderate (or rather I don’t know what to expect)
Thoughts:
Hmm, I’m not very convinced with cartoon characters in a drama, it’s just kinda weird. But at the same time, it might be quite funny too so I’ll give this a shot. Plus, Mitsushima Hikari is voicing the animated character, wonder if she has the seiyuu talent haha.

Hotel_Concierge-p1

Hotel Concierge

Cast: Mariya Nishiuchi, Shohei Miura, Katsunori Takahashi
Synopsis:
At the five star Forumonto Hotel, Toko Amano (Mariya Nishiuchi) works as a rookie concierge. Her senior concierge is Kazuma Honjo (Shohei Miura) and the general manager is Ryusuke Washio (Katsunori Takahashi). They are friendly and restrained with the customers at the Forumonto Hotel. Whenever problems occur, the various departments at the hotel work together to place a smile on the customer’s face.
Source

Expectation level: Moderate
Thoughts:
Hmm…usually not my cup of tea but it does look interesting? It’ll most probably deal with different guests in every episode, that basic formula. I’ll give it a try like I always do with new dramas and decide whether to continue. It does have a few cute guys so eye candies for me lol

TLastCop

The Last Cop
Cast: Karasawa Toshiaki, Kubota Masataka
Synopsis:

In 1985, when detective Kyogoku Kosuke (Karasawa Toshiaki) was hunting down some criminals, he suddenly found himself in the center of an explosion and ended up falling into a coma. In 2015, after 30 years Kosuke wakes up and has a lot to catch up, new values, technology, family, work, everything he has missed. Back to the Criminal Division, Kosuke and his new partner Ryota (Kubota Masataka) are entrusted with classified security data that aims to a terrorist group Schiesser.
Source

Expectation Level: Moderate
Thoughts:
It’s an action comedy cop show so I know it’s not to be taken seriously. First episode was quite funny so it might be a good relaxing series if you just want to spend your free time with few good laughs.
Head over to my first impression.

Ramendaisuki_main

Ramen Daisuki Koizumi-san
Cast: Akari Hayami
Synopsis:
Koizumi (Akari Hayami) is an attractive, but quiet female high school student. She’s actually a ramen master and looks for delicious ramen restaurants.
Source
Expectation: Moderate
Thoughts:
It’s actually quite entertaining (watched 2 eps so far). It’s also short (20-ish minutes) and lots of ramen to grace your screen. Plus, it’s already taken up for subbing so all the more reason to watch this.
Head over to my first impression.

3

Ishi no Mayu / Stone’s Cocoon
Cast: Kimura Fumino, Aoki Munetaka, Nakamura Toyu,  Koyanagi Yu, Furukawa Yuki
Synopsis:
Toko Kisaragi (Fumino Kimura) is a detective who just transferred to 11 Section of the 1st Investigation Division at the Tokyo Metropolitan Police Department. Her father was also a detective. A body is found under the basement floor of an abandoned building. The body has been cemented. Detectives hold a meeting to investigate the case. The murderer then calls the investigation headquarters. The murderer introduces himself as Toremi. Toko Kisaragi becomes Toremi’s negotiator. While giving hints about the murder, Toremi also ridicules and provokes the detectives. Toremi then calls and announces a second murder. The second victim is found and that person is also cemented.
Source

Expectation Level: Moderately High
Thoughts:
WOWOW production usually offers darker plots that really hit well with me, hence it’s no brainer why this drama immediately caught my attention. Plus, it’s a mystery and detective show, one of my favorite genres. Another reason is because of Kimura Fumino who has been quite impressive this year, landing herself in Top 10 actresses who are breaking out in the first half of 2015 (Oricon). This is not her first WOWOW drama though actually, she’d been in Sodom no Ringo where she acted as a magazine editor in pursuit of the woman she believed had murdered her ex-boyfriend. Too bad I couldn’t find the drama anymore. So I’m looking forward to see another gripping tale by WOWOW. The last one I’ve seen was Kageri Yuku Natsu which I highly recommend. The only downside is that most WOWOW dramas don’t get subbed. But even if this might not be subbed, I will still cover the show. This one falls under the category of ‘must watch even without subs’.

One thought on “Summer 2015 Jdrama

  1. Pingback: Koinaka ep1 [first impression] | Ritsu no Dorama Land

Leave a Reply

