Koinaka ep1 [first impression]


Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_12.15_[2015.07.22_11.11.19]

30 mins in and I’m already wondering whether I should continue or not. I’ve outgrown the summer youth phase. Afterall, I’m not 17 anymore and that period of time has long gone. I’m not into mushy cheesy love stories either. That’s probably why I didn’t enjoy this drama, well…as expected really. I only tried the first episode just to see for myself how bad it is. There must be a reason why a getsu9 drama hit such a low single digit rating 9.8%.

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_14.08_[2015.07.22_11.14.11] Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_14.10_[2015.07.22_11.14.17]

If you read the list of Summer 2015 dramas in my previous post, I’ve set my expectation low for this drama. Basically I tried to do that so I won’t come out disappointed.

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_25.14_[2015.07.22_11.27.45]

I think the main problem here is the clichéd screenplay that makes everything so predicted. I’ll touch on the cast later but first, the plot itself. So we have 2 childhood best friends who are close and deep inside, they liked each other but never got around to confess. That was until this transfer student from Tokyo came and also began to harbor feelings for the girl. Then misunderstandings —>but they made up—> but oh damsel in distress family bankrupt and city boy came to rescue—> damsel in distress left countryside–> country boy dejected–> fast forward few years later—> city boy dating damsel in distress—> country boy once again dejected. It’s so typical. I can’t even start to imagine how they’re gonna stretch this story into more than 10 episodes of them probably going to and fro being indecisive. Unless they have major surprises up their sleeves, it’s going to be boring as heck.

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_22.47_[2015.07.22_11.25.26]

Next we have two of the main leads who share the same complaints from viewers – lacking acting abilities to carry lead roles. Sure, they’re still young and normally, you’d forgive them. But it’s kinda frustrating at the same time to see people like them getting the push they don’t necessarily deserve. Fukushi Sota and Tsubasa Honda should start out with more supporting roles first rather than getting leads this fast in their career. I’ve not seen anything mind blowing from any of them in their career so far to have granted them this opportunity which should have been given to other better ones.

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_49.06_[2015.07.22_12.12.27]

I really think I’d have slightly enjoyed this drama more if the leads were given to other people instead of these two. I don’t feel empathy for any of them. In fact, I’m more interested in the side characters – Aoi’s friend who tried to commit suicide but saved by the panty he saw (I’ll go to the fan services later). There’s that spectacled sister of Aoi’s too.

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_19.15_[2015.07.22_11.19.37] Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_37.46_[2015.07.22_12.49.20]

Another thing I didn’t like was how similar both Fukushi Sota and Tsubasa Honda looked like in their previous roles. Think Enoshima Prism (god that was a boredom). I mean, I can’t even make them apart. One of the appeals of actors playing different characters is how they’re able to change their image, even if slightly in different roles. I don’t see that here.

url

It doesn’t help either that Fukushi’s role here is such a wuss, weak and indecisive. So much so that I’m tired of seeing him in the first half of the episode already. I can’t support such a lousy character. As for Tsubasa, I just get the feeling like I’ve seen her play that role a million other times. I can’t differentiate. I wonder if she’s also like that in real life. *Maybe I should watch some interviews* Because who knows, she might not even be acting, she’s just being herself, which makes it even worse. The way she controls her voice and body language at times annoy me. Sigh…I probably have ranted too much so I’ll leave it at that.

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_19.50_[2015.07.22_11.20.56] Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_08.01_[2015.07.22_11.11.57]

I didn’t like the light fan service too – for example Tsubasa’s short skirt and the panty of some random student raised by wind. Oh and of course, Fukushi’s body (though I have to say that swimming mistake he did was quite funny).

Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_11.26_[2015.07.22_11.21.10]Koinaka ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_20.23_[2015.07.22_11.21.40]

After all the negative stuffs, the only redeeming point is the theme song by Leo Ieiri.

Will I continue?

No. Even the first episode was hard to finish I don’t think I can sit through another 9 episodes or more.

Who is this for then?

If you’re a diehard fan of both Fukushi and Tsubasa and don’t mind their mediocre acting with overused script. Also if you’re into seishun/youth and looking for that nostalgic love story.

10 thoughts on “Koinaka ep1 [first impression]

  1. Oh Fukushi. Dead fish eyes and energy-sucker. Blah. Whoever gave him the green light to act should be made to eat wasabi by the truckloads. I think you should drop this and avoid Fukushi with a 100-foot pole.

  2. I am dropping it lol 1st episode was tough to even endure, I kept wanting to push the forward button.

    Initially I wanted to watch Kyou Wa Kaisha Yasumimasu for Hiroshi Tamaki but Fukushi was so unbearable (plus I don’t really like younger man/older woman plot) that I gave it up halfway. Pity Tamaki having to be his co-star.

  3. Nomura Shuhei is definitely better than both of them combined. It’s a pity because I think he won’t be have much screentime here other than being the supposedly ‘third wheel’ between the two leads.

  4. Kaisha was crap. The main characters were so stupid and dull, and the plot was dumb. Not even Ayase could save that shit and she had zero chemistry with Fukushi, who really needs to stop acting. Tamaki had only max 15 mins per episode, so it was a very frustrating watch. I don’t know what other Tamaki dramas you’ve seen, but if you want recs, lemme know and I can suggest a few.

  5. Agreed! Kaisha’s plot is really lousy, reminds me of Last Cinderella. The only character I liked in Kaisha was Tamaki’s and too bad he didn’t appear much. What a waste.
    I last saw him in Tensai Tantei Mitarai SP, that was quite nice. I heard a movie is going to be released too? Is Zannen na Otto good?

  6. I quite like Mitarai, and yes there’s a film coming out next year but sadly without the sidekick friend. Zannen na Otto is funny, it’s one of those silly dramas that’s good for laughs. Coming after Kaisha, it was a relief to see Tamaki back in a leading role, and he’s really good at comedy.

    For a more satisfying Tamaki-Ayase outing, try Shikaotoko Aoniyoshi. Brilliant drama. He was also a real sweetheart in Kekkon Shinai, and generally awesome in Love Shuffle. He was a guest star (the last 2 episodes) of Kagi Kakatta no Heya, which is a very good series overall. Orient Kyuukou Satsujin Jiken is also excellent, has a star-studded cast, solid acting and a good plot.

    If you’ve seen all these, then it’s time to revisit Nodame Cantabile 😄

  7. I’ve seen Nodame, one of my favs from him hehe I didn’t know about Shikaotoko and Orient so I’ll definitely check those out!

Leave a Reply

