Doctor Car ep1 [first impression]


Doctor Car is a perfect example of what J-drama universe should stop doing. I’m not sure what they’re trying to accomplish with this drama but it’s dull and vapid with a recycled plot. We’ve seen this countless times and I just wish they stop wasting precious time, money and effort to produce such a mundane show.

Doctor Car ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_11.19_[2016.04.15_00.44.43]

Stop it please…

When I see Doctor Car, it reminds me of Doctor Heli (Code Blue) which was way better than this. Doctor Car has the potential to be great or at least inspirational but they ruined it by making the antagonist act like a spoiled brat. I have a feeling whenever producers are looking for an annoying bad guy, they’d cast Shunsuke Nakamura. If my memory serves me right, every single show I’ve watched with him in, he never fails to turn me off. Geez, give him a nice character for once.

Doctor Car ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_14.29_[2016.04.15_00.45.04]

Gouriki Ayame isn’t the worst in this, because Shunsuke took that crown, making her look less pitiable. Gouriki has been stuck with mediocre dramas and didn’t she mention something like ‘focusing on her musical career’ a while ago? I sincerely believe Gouriki has it in her, she’s not the best, not great but tolerable, given she plays the right role. She’s surprisingly okay in her role here but there’s one problem – she just doesn’t look or feel like a doctor to me, no matter how hard I try to imagine it. Something is just off, preventing me from fully appreciating her character.

Doctor Car ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_35.26_[2016.04.15_00.50.16]

Plus, she’s a single mother and that again is another obstacle for me. She looks more like a big sister to Ayumu Yokoyama than a mother. It’s not all bad though, I do like her interaction with the kid, they seem pretty natural.

Doctor Car ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_40.43_[2016.04.15_01.00.47]

Like I mentioned, the antagonist, Yusuke Asagi is irritating with his childish behaviour and I can’t believe a real life grown up doctor would act the way he does. They really need to quit making doctors act like fools. It’s just illogical. The other characters also leave a lot to be desired, for example, the Doctor Car teammates also look bored as hell, probably wondering themselves, how have they end up in this uninspiring show.

Doctor Car ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_42.35_[2016.04.15_01.01.05]

 Verdict:

Avoid.

 

One thought on “Doctor Car ep1 [first impression]

  1. I really think that Gouriki is a much better actress than she is given credit for. She (or her agent) does accept a lot of questionable roles for her in really run-of-the mill dramas.

Leave a Reply

