Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep 1-2 [review]


** Get the subtitles here.

The only reason I’m giving this a shot is because of Matsushima Nanako and Matsuda Ryuhei. Nanako still looks elegant, she ages well. It’s nice to see Ryuhei in a non-quirky character and acting normal. As for the plot, it’s basically about Kira (Nanako) who takes maternity leave for 3 years after giving birth, returns to her company. She works as the creative director in an advertising company before motherhood. After returning, she gets kicked to business department.

Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_13.43_[2016.08.07_00.07.03]

After 3 years of absence in the industry, she finds out quickly that it has changed so much and hard to catch up. Adding the fact that she’s now in charge of an entirely different department, she’s having a hard time juggling between family and work.

Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_11.43_[2016.08.07_00.04.56]

Kira hires a babysitter to look after her kid whenever both she and her husband are busy. Takagi (Ryuhei) is her former junior in the creative department, but after she’s gone, he rises to become the Head. As such, there’s also this sense of rivalry between the two.

Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_04.45_[2016.08.06_23.53.12]

As for my impression after 2 episodes, I’m probably not gonna continue watching. First of all, why is it that Japanese culture has a problem with working mothers? I don’t find it a huge issue in my country. My own mother works and we were taken care by babysitter when we were young. Of course, there are things you’re going to sacrifice if you’re working. Less family time, less bonding with your children and so on but it’s NOT the end of the world. There are plenty of working mothers and they still manage their family fine. I know the drama is addressing this issue but I’m tired of this typical mindset in Japan.

Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_31.18_[2016.08.07_16.41.10]

This is a minor gripe but it still bothers me. Kira’s still thinking of methods to promote her clients’ products, isn’t that what the creative department should do? I know she’s trying to win her clients’ hearts but at the same time, I want to see a more focused depiction of business work. It’s like 99.9% where MatsuJun is a lawyer but he ends up doing detective work with minimal court battles. I was kinda disappointed with that. Well, at least that show is interesting enough.

Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep01 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_17.04_[2016.08.07_16.42.34]

I still can’t take DAIGO seriously

Initially, I’m keen to know what the babysitter is after. In the first episode, she seems mysterious and so I thought, “Oh potential suspense” but after watching the trailer for episode 3, it goes down the drain. Can they not make her a typical husband snatcher? There are so many things to explore. Like maybe a revenge of some sort? A dark past or trauma? I really hope she’s not just here to cause ruckus and start some kind of affair with Kira’s husband.

Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep02 (848x480 x264).mp4_snapshot_18.23_[2016.08.07_17.58.16]

It’s certainly nice to see Nanako onscreen again but the plot doesn’t seem promising. Ryuhei’s character is so far, kinda wasted too. There’s nothing much for him to do at all. There is hope in episode 1 because I like how the sushi president turns down their CM. I prefer Takagi’s unconventional idea for the CM and for the president to turn it down because the rival’s is cheaper even though it resonates with him so much, now that is bold. Episode 2’s writing seems slightly sloppy and lazy.

It just doesn’t make sense Kira would go against their own in ep2. I understand it takes guts to take a smaller company’s side but isn’t it common sense to think of the consequences? It’s just predictable that it can only end one way, they will always be on the losing side because 200 million versus 20 million. See, this is why you don’t put someone from an entirely different department in charge (I know the boss just wants her to take the blame and kick her out, I still want to know why though!)

So yes, this is like Hajimemashite  where the cast is good but wasted on such typical plot.

2 thoughts on “Eigyou Buchou Kira Natsuko ep 1-2 [review]

  1. Here is a most useful comment. I don’t think I am going to bother watching. I like Nanako very much, and I hate to see her wasted. This was the case already in Lucky Seven, where she had so little to do. What a pity!

  2. What a pity for Nanako, I’d been hoping this would be good since there’s Matsuda Ryuhei too.

    I have not been able to take Daigo seriously since Love Shuffle, haha.

Leave a Reply

